Jones Intermediate Teacher Named NCCAT Beginning Teacher of the Year Finalist

One of the finalists will be named the NCCAT 2022 Prudential NC Beginning Teacher of the Year. The award is scheduled to be presented Feb. 17, 2022, at the Bardo Center on Western Carolina University campus.

NCCAT Executive Director M. Brock Womble said the 27 teachers have all gotten off to a strong start as educators and that their schools and students are the real winners.

“Public school educators across our state work hard every day to make an impact on the lives of North Carolina students,” Womble said. “Taking time to honor excellent beginning educators across our state through the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching (NCCAT) 2022 Prudential NC Beginning Teacher of the Year program is important, as we are continually striving to elevate the teaching profession and emphasize the significance of the work they do every day.

“Congratulations to these finalists and the school districts they represent. We look forward to having them with us for a week of professional development and a special night to honor the teaching profession.”

NCCAT provides professional development for educators from across North Carolina. With its main campus in Cullowhee and a second campus on Ocracoke Island, NCCAT offers programs and seminars designed to provide North Carolina teachers activities structured to develop renewed enthusiasm for teaching. The focus of NCCAT is year-round series of residential programs that incorporate the N. C. Standard Course of Study, which defines what students are expected to know and be able to do by the end of each school year or course.

NCCAT is funded as part of the N.C. Department of Public Instruction.

The NCCAT 2022 Prudential NC Beginning Teacher of the Year finalists are:

Anson County Schools  

Ashe County Schools    

Asheboro City Schools  

Beaufort County Schools

Brunswick County Schools        

Buncombe County Schools

Charlotte Lab Charter School

Cleveland County Schools         

Clinton City Schools      

Edenton-Chowan Schools         

Franklin County Schools

Greene County Schools

Guilford County Schools

Harnett County Schools

Lee County Schools      

McDowell County Schools        

Mount Airy City Schools

New Hanover County Schools   

Newton-Conover City Schools   

Orange County Schools

Pitt County Schools      

Socrates Academy        

Southern Wake Academy

Stanly County Schools  

Transylvania County Schools     

Wake County Public Schools     

Wilkes County Schools

Erin Thomas

Charlene Horton

Keichelle Joyce

Brianna Genello

Denise-Marie Copeland

Anneliese Shreve

Meghan Dugan

Ricky Alston, Jr.

Thomas Kweon

Kaitlyn Smith

Rachel McKeithan

Meghan Chinn

Minh McNicholas

Jenae Dwornicki

Riley Sullivan

Nicholas Reller

Candice Fenton-Haynes

Rachel Norfleet

Kayleigh Spivey

Xavier Adams

Ashley Parmley

Jackson Barkley

David Witkowski

Casey Thompson

Ashlee O'Dwyer

Zoe Grove

Brooke Bentley